Admin: Relocating to California? Yes and No

Ashby Monk

This post is being transmitted to you from a sunlit room in Los Gatos, California. I’ve got a cup of coffee, some interesting reading and a view of a rose garden, which means I’m basically in heaven. And, here’s the news, I’ve decided I’m not leaving…seriously…I’m staying put.

Now, if I’m honest (which I always try to be) the decision to move to the San Francisco Bay Area has actually been in the works for quite some time (basically since my wife got pregnant 11 months ago). The idea was to move home so we could have some family help with the new kiddo. Plus, after 16 years away, much of it in foreign countries, I was ready to come back to the place where I spent my youth (I was born in Canada but moved here when I was about 4).

And so, you may be asking, Ashby, what are you going to do? Are you leaving Oxford University? Actually, Oxford has just agreed to extend my contract for another year, which means I’ll be staying on as a Research Fellow and continuing on with the same stuff I have been doing (i.e. research, books, papers, blogs, conferences, etc.). How is that even possible? Well, having a dedicated research position (i.e. no teaching load) gives me the flexibility of locating where I like.  So here we are.

From the perspective of blog readers (this means you), the only change I can foresee from all this is that blog posts will go live somewhat later than they did before.

Anyway, if you ever find yourself in the Bay Area, send me a note. I’m always interested in a chat about SWFs.

6 Responses to “Admin: Relocating to California? Yes and No”


  1. 1 Andrew Rozanov August 27, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    So which is it going to be? Los Gatos or San Francisco? I happened to visit both this summer, and I must say: my vote goes to Los Gatos… Unless, of course, you go for Sausolito in San Fran area… In any case, good luck and Godspeed! And please keep up the good (blog) work…

  2. 2 Sven Behrendt August 28, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Congrats, Ashby, great choices on all accounts!

  3. 3 Mike Maduell August 28, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I’m biased here. I would say San Francisco hands down over Los Gatos.

    If you are into gardens, check out: http://www.filoli.org/plan-your-visit/

    I took my family there and there are some amazing things to see.

  4. 4 Victoria Barbary August 29, 2010 at 5:46 am

    All I can say is lovely location, shame about the timezone. Just don’t go around trying to interact with Asia, you’ll never sleep.

    Another reason to visit the west coast, which I’ve never done. Enjoy – do a couple of vineyard (sorry “winery”) tours for me!

  5. 5 Ashby Monk August 30, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Thanks for the kind words everybody. In the short term (till Jan), I’ve got a place in LG. And I have to say I’m really enjoying the walk-ability of the town. But come 2011, I’m not sure where we’ll be. Probably something a bit closer to SF…if not IN the city (it may be too foggy for our sensibilities).


  1. 1 The Compassionate Investor: Norway’s GPF-G « Oxford SWF Project Trackback on September 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

About

This website is a project of Professor Gordon L. Clark and Dr. Ashby Monk of the School of Geography and the Environment at the University of Oxford. Their research on sovereign wealth funds is funded by the Leverhulme Trust and The Rotman International Centre for Pension Management.

RSS Feed

 RSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 370 other followers

Latest SWF News

Visitors Since August 2010


